News, Pulse Beat Individual Articles

MPSG’s 2020 Annual General Meeting Summary

THE ANNUAL GENERAL meeting of Manitoba Pulse & Soybean Growers took place on day one of the CropConnect Conference on February 12 at the Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre in Winnipeg, MB. The terms of four members of MPSG’s board of directors were up this year. Bryce MacMillan, Frank Prince, Melvin Rattai and Ernie Sirski all let their names stand for re-election. All four were re-elected by acclamation.

Auditors George & Associates Chartered Professional Accounts Inc. walked attendees through the 2019 financial reports (available online at and opened the floor for discussion. MPSG’s Melissa Denys-Roulette presented on the association’s Scientific Research and Experimental Development tax credit. This year, MPSG members in good standing are eligible to get a tax credit of 73.68% of the check-off they’ve paid to the association.

Executive Director François Labelle gave his report, which highlighted some of the challenges farmers faced over the last growing season and several ways MPSG is working on behalf of its members.

Following a brief presentation from MPSG’s Director of Research and Production Daryl Domitruk, On-Farm Network Agronomist Megan Bourns, along with three On-Farm Network participants took to the stage and walked attendees through the program and the valuable lessons they learned in participating in it.

Federal Agriculture Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau was the morning keynote speaker on day one of CropConnect. To allow attendees to take in her opening remarks, the AGM adjourned roughly 45 minutes after it was called to order.